Preserved lemons

Months ago I did some preserved lemons and I was so behind with other projects (getting ready for the West Coast Culinary Symposium among other things), that I was remiss in actually updating my blog with the recipe for my lemons. This is a very simple recipe and living in a region where citrus is in abundance, that this is a great way to use them up.

When I made mine, I couldn’t find my juicer attachment for any of my kitchenaids, so I did everything by hand. After juicing about 15 lemons, my hands were done with me, though my skin was lemony fresh.

I used this recipe over here, but ended up adjusting it a bit.

How to Make Preserved Lemons

Ingredients

8-10 lemons, scrubbed very clean
1/2 cup kosher salt, more if needed (I ended up using far more)
Extra fresh squeezed lemon juice, if needed (I needed a lot)
Sterilized quart canning jar

1. Place about 2 Tbs of salt in the bottom of jar.
2. Trim each lemon off all stems and cut 1/4 inch off the tip of each lemon. Cut each lemon as if you were going to cut them in half lengthwize, starting from the tip, but do not cut all the way. Keep the lemon attached at the base. Make another cut in a similar manner, so now the lemon is quartered, but again, attached at the base.
3. Open the lemons up like you are opening up a flower, still keeping the base attached and sprinkle in salt. The salt should cover all of the inside and the outside of the lemon.
4. Pack the lemons in the jar and really press them down. As you add lemons, pack them down (crush) so that juice comes out of them. You will want to fill the jar with lemons and ultimately there needs to be lemon enough lemon juice to cover these lemons. I ended up juicing about 12 more lemons to cover the 10 lemons I had, but it all depends on how much liquid you get from your lemons.
5. Top with a couple of tablespoons of salt.
6. Seal the jar and let sit in a cool room for a week. Turn the jar upside down every day or so. Put in refrigerator and let sit, again turning upside down every few days for at least 3 weeks, until lemon rinds soften.
7. To use, remove a lemon from the jar and rinse thoroughly in water to remove salt, discarding seeds before using. You can discard the pulp before using or use. You can can the peels and store in the refrigerator for up to six months.

Options: you can add other spices to this like cloves, coriander seeds, peppercorns, cinnamon stick, and bay leaf. These preserved lemons are a great condiment, a great addition for rice, meat dishes, and salads. When you need to liven up a dish, these are really great. It’s also a nice gift if you put in a nice jar.

One response to “Preserved lemons

  1. Pingback: Historische Küche im Netz (Retrospektive) | KuliMa - Kulinarisches Mittelalter Graz

Leave a Reply

